Daejeon MICE +

Temiorae, a governor’s mansion
reformed as a tourist attraction

Temiorae, a governor’s mansion reformed as a tourist attraction


Temiorae, a governor’s mansion reformed as a tourist attraction


The former mansion of Chung-Cheong Province’s governor has undergone a four-year reconstruction, and through a public contest for its new naming, it is now called Temiorae. After its opening on April 6, 2019, over 500 visitors daily have been visiting Temiorae.

Temiorae is a compound of “Temi” and “Orae,” with the former being the previous title of Daejeon, and the latter as a homophone meaning both “come to” and “old” at the same time. Temiorae is a name meaning “Come to the old Daejeon neighborhood, and experience the specialties of a semi-modern Korean city.”

Centering on the old governor’s mansion, Temiorae is composed of 11 sites and 10 buildings. It is the only area of governmental residences remaining from the old Japanese colonial era. Each area of the compound serves as a unique exhibition zone that looks at the development history of Daejeon.

Temiorae, the mansion of a former Chungnam Governor, was built in 1932, when the governmental office moved from Gongju to Daejeon. It was used as the provisional government office in the Korean War. In the year 2012, the office of Chung-nam Province was moved to Hongseung, concluding its service. After a while, Daejeon decided to use it as a historical asset for educational and cultural purposes. During its four-year renovation, trails were made, and gardens were created, as the once closed-to-public areas were opened.


Temiorae: 101, Bomun-ro 205st 27, Jung-gu, Daejeon (34949)
March–November: 10:00–17:00
December–February: 10:00–16:00
(Closed every Monday)
Contact: –042-335-5705